The Triumph Hurdle is the premier race for four-year-old novice hurdlers in Britain. The race takes place on the final day of the Festival and is run at a gruelling pace over two miles and one furlong – with the hill to conquer at the finish it is a tough test of a young hurdler. Occasionally four-year-olds are redirected to the Supreme Novice Hurdle on the opening day but otherwise the creme de la creme of juvenile talent is on show in the Triumph.

Like plenty of Festival races, the Triumph always attracts a large field, with plenty of the runners being recruits from the flat racing scene, and as most of them are more precociously bred than their NH-bred counterparts it is no surprise that these ex-flat racers have a great record.

Several recent winners of the Triumph Hurdle have gone on to run well in the Champion Hurdle, despite the poor record of five-year-olds in winning the big race. Katchit managed to buck the trend in 2010 having stormed away with the juvenile championship the season before, and more recently Celestial Halo (second and fourth) Zaynar (third), Zarkandar (fifth) and Countrywide Flame (third) have put in good efforts in the Champion.


The Triumph Hurdle was introduced to the Festival in 1968 having been run as a non-Festival race since 1939. The French dominated the really early contests with their precociously-bred jumps animals and there are still plenty of winners with the (FR) suffix in present day juvenile hurdles on these shores.

Other than the aforementioned Katchit, three other winners of the Triumph have gone on to Champion Hurdle glory – Clair Soleil, Persian War and Kribensis. In 25 years since Kribensis won the race for Sir Michael Stoute, Katchit is the only horse to do the double.

As with a few Festival races, Nicky Henderson is the leading trainer of Triumph winners with five since 1985. Soldatino in 2010 was the most recent horse to be unsaddled by Henderson in the winner’s enclosure, and was a record third winner in the race for jockey Barry Geraghty. Geraghty’s trio is matched by Jimmy Uttley, who completed his hat-trick for three different trainers between 1967 and 1971.

JCB have sponsored the Triumph Hurdle since 2002 when Scolardy won by an incredible 11 lengths.

Race Previews:


Tiger Roll wins 2014 Triumph Hurdle.
Tiger Roll comes clear to impressively win the 2014 Triumph Hurdle for Gordon Elliott.

Previous Winners:

2014Tiger Roll4G Elliott10-1
2013Our Conor4D Hughes4-1
2012Countrywide Flame4J Quinn33-1
2011Zarkandar4P F Nicholls13-2
2010Soldatino4N J Henderson6-1
2009Zaynar4N J Henderson11-2
2008Celestial Halo4P F Nicholls5-1
2007Katchit4A King11-2
2006Detroit City4P Hobbs7-2F
2005Penzance4A King9-1
2004Made In Japan4P Hobbs20-1
2003Spectroscope4J O’Neill20-1
2002Scolardy4W Mullins16-1
2000Snow Drop4F Doumen7-1