The RSA Chase is a Grade 1 chase which is open to horses aged five years or older. It is run on the Old Course at Cheltenham over a distance of about 3 miles and 110 yards, and during its running there are nineteen fences to be jumped.

The race is for novice chasers, and it is scheduled to take place on the second day of the Cheltenham Festival.

Until recently, favourites didn’t fare well in this event. Cheltenham is always a tough place for novice chasers, and the quicker pace of Festival races and the stamina sapping trip have all probably contributed to this statistic.

Only Looks Like Trouble (1999) and Denman (2007) had won the RSA Chase before going onto Gold Cup success the following year since the mid-90’s, however a resurgence in the last two years has seen first Bobs Worth, and then Lord Windermere winning both races a year apart. Some trainers prefer to avoid the race altogether and target their best staying novices at other festivals later in the year.


The event was formerly known as the Broadway Novices’ Chase, but since the mid 1960s it has been run under various sponsored titles. From 1964 to 1973 it was sponsored by the Tote, and it was called the Totalisator Champion Novices’ Chase. Since then it has been backed by its present sponsor, RSA Insurance Group, and its predecessors Sun Alliance (1974–1996) and Royal & Sun Alliance (1997–2008).

Several winners of the race have subsequently achieved victory in the most prestigious chase in the National Hunt calendar, the Cheltenham Gold Cup. The most recent was Lord Windermere, winning the latter of the two in 2014.

Race Previews:

Previous Winners:

2015Don Poli6W P Mullins13-8F
2014O’Faolains Boy7Miss R Curtis12-1
2013Lord Windermere7J Culloty8-1
2012Bobs Worth7N J Henderson9-2
2011Bostons Angel7Mrs John Harrington16-1
2010Weapon’s Amnesty7C Byrnes10-1
2009Cooldine7W P Mullins9-4F
2008Albertas Run7J O´Neill4-1F
2007Denman7P F Nicholls6-5F
2006Star De Mohaison5P F Nicholls14-1
2005Trabolgan7N J Henderson5-1
2004Rule Supreme8W P Mullins25-1
2003One Knight7P J Hobbs15-2
2002Hussard Collonges7P Beaumont33-1
2000Lord Noelie7Miss H Knight9-2