The Pertemps Final Hurdle is a listed handicap hurdle run on the New Course at the Cheltenham Festival and is open to horses aged five and over. During it’s running there are twelve hurdles to be negotiated over a distance of 3 miles, and is scheduled to take place on the third day of the Cheltenham Festival.

The race is currently positioned between the JLT Novices’ Chase and Ryanair Chase on what is currently a six-race card.

Established in 1974, it was introduced as a replacement for a previous race at the Festival, the George Duller Handicap Hurdle. It was originally sponsored by Coral, and for much of its early history it was titled the Coral Golden Hurdle Final. It has had various sponsors since 1993, and the latest of these, Pertemps, began supporting the race in 2002.

In order to run in the race, horses must qualify via running in a series of qualifiers run at different venues throughout the national hunt season and only by doing this can they run in the big final in March.

Generally speaking horses only win this race once in their careers’ but there are the odd exceptions to the rule. Willie Wumpkins won the race three years in a row between 1979-1981 and more recently the David Pipe trained Buena Vista won back-to-back renewals in 2010-2011.

Race Previews:

  • 2014 Pertemps Final Hurdle
  • 2013 Pertemps Final Hurdle
  • 2012 Pertemps Final Hurdle
  • 2011 Pertemps Final Hurdle
Fingal Bay wins 2014 Pertemps Final Hurdle.
Fingal Bay defies top-weight to capture Pertemps Final 2014 under Richard Johnson.

 Previous Winners:

2014Fingal Bay8P Hobbs9-2F
2013Holywell6J O’Neill25-1
2012Cape Tribulation8M Jefferson14-1
2011Buena Vista10D Pipe20-1
2010Buena Vista9D Pipe16-1
2009Kayf Aramis7V Williams16-1
2008Ballyfitz8N Twiston-Davies18-1
2007Oscar Park8D Arbuthnot14-1
2006Kadoun9M O’Brien50-1
2005Oulart6D Hughes10-1
2004Creon9J O’Neill50-1
2003Inching Closer6J O’Neill6-1F
2002Freetown6L Lungo20-1
2000Rubhahunish9N Twiston-Davies8-1