The Kim Muir Challenge Cup is a handicap chase for amateur riders, and is run on the New course at Cheltenham taking place on the third day of the Cheltenham Festival. During its running here are nineteen fences to be jumped, over a distance of 3 miles 1.5 furlong – and is currently the final race on a pulsating third day which includes the Ryanair Chase and World Hurdle.

Established back in 1946 the race was originally called the Kim Muir Amateur Riders’ Steeplechase, having been introduced by Mrs Evan Williams in memory of her late brother Kim Muir, a cavalry officer who lost his life during the Second World War.

The name of Fulke Walwyn was added to the race title in 1991, in honour of the highly successful racehorse trainer who trained 211 winners at Cheltenham racecourse during his career, 40 of those coming at the prestigious Festival meeting.

The race has been used as a stepping stone towards the Aintree Grand National, with the Donald McCain trained Ballabriggs taking this very race in 2010 prior to landing the big one at Aintree the following year. Sunnyhillboy won this under Alan Berry in 2012 and then was agonisingly denied in the last stride at Aintree a month later by the top-class grey Neptune Collonges in an absolute thriller.

Race Previews:

2015 Kim Muir Challenge Cup Preview
2014 Kim Muir Challenge Cup Preview

Spring Heeled wins the 2014 Kim Muir Challenge Cup
Spring Heeled flies the last en-route to success in 2014.

Previous Winners:

2014Spring Heeled7J Culloty12-1
2013Same Difference7N Twiston-Davies16-1
2012Sunnyhillboy9J O’Neill13-2F
2011Junior8D Pipe10-3F
2010Ballabriggs9D McCain9-1
2009Character Building9J Quinn16-1
2008High Chimes9E Williams14-1
2007Cloudy Lane7D McCain15-2F
2006You’re Special9F Murphy33-1
2005Juveigneur8N Henderson12-1
2004Maximize10M Pipe40-1
2003Royal Predica9M Pipe33-1
2002The Bushkeeper8N Henderson9-2F
2000Honey Mount9R Alner8-1