The Grand Annual Chase is the final race on the fourth, and final day of the Cheltenham Festival bringing to a close what is a spectacular four days of fiercely competitive jump racing action. It is a Grade 3 handicap chase, run on the new course over a distance of 2 miles and 110 yards, and during its running there are fourteen fences to be negotiated.


The Grand Annual is the oldest race at the Cheltenham Festival, and it is also the oldest chase in the present National Hunt calendar. It was first run in April 1834, and was initially contested over three miles of open country at Andoversford, near Cheltenham.

The race was discontinued in the 1860’s but was revived at the turn of the century, and during the early 1900’s it took place at several different venues, including Melton Mowbray, Leicester and Warwick, before returning to Cheltenham in 1913.

The name of Johnny Henderson (1920-2003), a banker and racehorse owner was added to the races’ title in 2005. Henderson, the father of racehorse trainer Nicky, was partly responsible for safeguarding the future of the Festival. He and other Jockey Club members founded the Racecourse Holdings Trust, and raised £240,000 to purchase the venue to fend off interest from property developers, who had been looking at the racecourse.

Race Previews:

2015 Grand Annual Chase
2014 Grand Annual Chase
2013 Grand Annual Chase

Savello wins Grand Annual
Savello (right) lands the gamble for Tony Martin to win the 2014 Grand Annual Chase.

Previous Winners:

2014Savello8A Martin16-1
2013Alderwood9T Mullins3-1F
2012Bellvano8N Henderson20-1
2011Oiseau de Nuit9C Tizzard40-1
2010Pigeon Island7N Twiston-Davies16-1