The Foxhunter Chase is a National Hunt chase for amateur riders which is open to horses aged five years or older. It is run on the fourth and final of the Cheltenham Festival in March, and takes place on the New Course at Cheltenham over a distance of around 3 miles and 2.5 furlongs, the same course & distance as the Cheltenham Gold Cup which is run earlier on the card.

The race is sometimes referred to as the ‘amateur gold cup’, and was established in 1904 with the inaugural running won by Palmy Boy.

There is a unique qualification system in place to enable entry into the race which is based on a horse’s previous performance in the selected criteria. To be eligible a horse must have finished first or second twice in hunter chases, or have won two open point-to-point races, or have won one open point-to-point and finished first or second in a hunter chase.


The race was sponsored by the insurance company Sun Alliance and London in 1972 and 1973, and for the following five years was run without a sponsor. Art auctioneers Christies’ supported the race from 1979 right up until 2012, and since 2013 it has been sponsored by the Country Gentleman’s Association (or CGA for short).

Richard Barber is currently the leading trainer in the race (since 1946) with four wins, the last of those being Earthmover in 1998. Colman Sweeney is the top jockey in this event with three wins to his name, the last of those coming in 2013 aboard Salsify who in the process won back-to-back renewals, the first horse since Double Silk in ’94 to achieve the feat.

Race Previews:

2016 Foxhunter Chase
2015 Foxhunter Chase
2014 Foxhunter Chase

Previous Winners:

2015On The Fringe10E Bolger6-1
2014Tammys Hill9L Lennon15-2
2013Salsify8R Sweeney2-1F
2012Salsify7R Sweeney7-1
2011Zemsky8I Ferguson33-1
2010Baby Run10N Twiston-Davies9-2JF