The Festival Trophy Handicap Chase is a Grade 3 Handicap chase in Great Britain which is open to horses aged five years or older. It is run on the Old Course at Cheltenham over a distance of about 3 miles and 110 yards (4,929 metres), and during its running there are nineteen fences to be negotiated. It is scheduled to take place each year on the opening day of the Cheltenham Festival in March.

The event was originally known as the National Hunt Handicap Chase, but its title has included the name of a sponsor from the early 1980s. It was backed by Ritz Club from 1981 until 1996, Astec Buzz Shop in 1997 and William Hill between 1998 and 2010. In 2011 the race was run as the Stewart Family Spinal Research Handicap Chase and sponsored by the Stewart family, headed by businessman and racehorse owner Andy Stewart to raise awareness of, and highlight the work done by, the charity Spinal Research. Since 2015 the race has been sponsored by Ultima Business Solutions.

Winners of the race often take part in the Grand National, although not always in the same year. Horses to have achieved victory in both events include Royal Tan, Team Spirit, West Tip, Seagram and Rough Quest.

Race Previews:

  • 2016 Festival Trophy Handicap Chase
  • 2015 Festival Trophy Handicap Chase
  • 2014 Festival Trophy Handicap Chase
2016 Festival Trophy Handicap Chase winner Un Temps Pour Tout
Un Temps Pour Tout clears away from Holywell to win the 2016 Festival Handicap Trophy.

Previous Winners:

2016Un Temps Pour Tout7D Pipe11-1
2015The Druids Nephew8N Mulholland8-1
2014Holywell7J O’Neill10-1
2013Golden Chieftain8C Tizzard28-1
2012Alfie Sherrin9J O’Neill14-1
2011Bensalem8A King5-1
2010Chief Dan George10J Moffatt33-1
2009Wichita Lineman8J O’Neill5-1F
2008An Accordion7D Pipe7-1
2007Joes Edge10F Murphy50-1
2006Dun Doire7A Martin7-1
2005Kelami7F Doumen8-1
2004Fork Lightning8A King7-1
2003Youlneverwalkalone9C Roche7-1
2002Frenchman’s Creek8H Morrison8-1
2000Marlborough8N J Henderson11-2