The David Nicholson Mares’ Hurdle is a Grade 1 race which is open to mares aged four years or older. It is run on the Old Course at Cheltenham over a distance of about 2 miles and 4 furlongs, and during its running there are nine hurdles to be jumped.

The event is named in memory of David Nicholson (1939–2006), who was successful as both a jockey and a trainer in National Hunt racing. Nicholson’s record at the Cheltenham Festival included five victories as a jockey, and seventeen as a trainer.

The David Nicholson Mares’ Hurdle was established in 2008, and in its inaugural year it was held on the final day of the Festival on Cheltenham’s New Course. It was switched to the opening day on the Old Course in 2009.

The race has been sponsored since 2012 by OLBG and the race has been run as the OLBG Mares Hurdle for the last three years.

In 2013 the Willie Mullins trained Quevega made it five straight wins on the bounce in the race, and in the process became the first horse since Golden Miller in 1930s to win the same race, five years in a row. She was made to dig deep by her rivals but pulled out all the stops for her rider Ruby Walsh, prevailing on the run-in to record an historic success.

One year later she bettered the feat by becoming the first horse in history to win the same race, six years in a row when grittily out-battling stable-mate Glens Melody on the run-in to record a record success in the race she has made her own.

The race was upgraded to Grade 1 status in 2015.

Race Previews:

Glens Melody wins the OLBG Mares Hurdle 2015.
Glens Melody capitalises on a last-flight spill from Annie Power to win the 2015 OLBG Mares Hurdle.

Previous Winners:

2015Glens Melody7W P Mullins6-1
2014Quevega10W P Mullins8-11F
2013Quevega9W P Mullins8-11F
2012Quevega8W P Mullins4-7F
2011Quevega7W P Mullins5-6F
2010Quevega6W P Mullins6-4F
2009Quevega5W P Mullins2-1F
2008Whiteoak5D McCain Jnr20-1