The Conditional Jockeys Hurdle is the penultimate race on the fourth, and final day of the Cheltenham Festival. It is a handicap hurdle open to horses aged four years and over, and is run over a distance 2 miles and 4.5 furlongs, and during it’s running there are nine hurdles to be negotiated.

The race was established in 2009 and is named in honour of Martin Pipe, a highly successful trainer in the National Hunt sphere who retired in 2006. During his career Pipe was Champion Trainer fifteen times, and his record at the Cheltenham Festival included thirty-four victories.

Although there have only been six renewals of the race, there have been some high-class winners who have gone on to better things the following season, the most successful of those is without doubt Sir Des Champs who won the JLT Novices’ Chase the following year, before finishing runner up to Bobs Worth in the Gold Cup one year later.

Willie Mullins is currently the leading trainer in the race, having saddled two winners in the six renewals, those being Sir Des Champs (2011) and Don Poli (2014). Both of those being owned by Gigginstown House Stud.

Race Previews:

2015 Conditional Jockeys Hurdle
2014 Conditional Jockeys Hurdle
2013 Conditional Jockeys Hurdle

Don Poli wins the Conditional Jockeys Hurdle
Don Poli (right) jumps the last before powering to success in the 2014 Conditional Jockeys Hurdle.

Previous Winners:

2014Don Poli5W Mullins12-1
2013Salubrious6P Nicholls16-1
2012Attaglance6M Jefferson20-1
2011Sir Des Champs5W Mullins9-2F
2010Pause And Clause6E Lavelle14-1
2009Andytown6N Henderson25-1